Menu

College Admissions Data

University of Virginia Admissions Data

In 2025-26, UVA reported 64,457 first-year applicants and 10,086 admitted students, an acceptance rate of 15.6%. See where you stand, how the rate has changed since 2009-10, and unlock the full year-by-year history free.

Where do I stand?

Compares with UVA's latest reported figures: SAT 1410 to 1520 (2024-25), ACT 32 to 35 (2025-26), GPA bands (2024-25). It shows where you fall. It does not estimate your chances.

Your result

Enter a score, a GPA, or both.

Middle 50% means the range from the 25th to the 75th percentile of enrolled first-year students who submitted that test.

The latest year

Applicants
64,457CDS 2025-26
Admitted
10,086CDS 2025-26
Acceptance rate
15.6%CDS 2025-26
Early decision vs overall
27.9% vs 16.8%CDS 2024-25
SAT middle 50%
1410–1520; 46% submittedCDS 2024-25
ACT middle 50%
32–35CDS 2025-26

More on UVA: campus context, review criteria and admissions contacts

UVA over 17 years

Down from 32% in 2009-10 to 16% in 2025-26. Applications grew from 21,108 to 64,457 over the same years, about 3.1 times as many.

Acceptance rate: admitted divided by applicants, CDS C1. Hover, tap or use the arrow keys for each year. A break in the line is a year the file did not report.
University of Virginia acceptance rate by CDS year (public figures)
CDS yearApplicantsAdmittedAcceptance rate
2005-06Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
2006-07Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
2007-08Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
2008-09Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
2009-1021,1086,76832.1%
2010-1122,1247,21232.6%
2011-1223,5877,85133.3%
2012-1327,1938,04629.6%
2013-1429,0218,72830.1%
2014-1531,0218,99729.0%
2015-1630,8409,18629.8%
2016-1732,3779,66829.9%
2017-1836,77910,05827.3%
2018-1937,1829,82826.4%
2019-2040,8399,77823.9%
2020-2140,8789,23022.6%
2021-2247,9829,95120.7%
2022-2350,9269,50318.7%
2023-2456,5289,53316.9%
2024-2558,9519,90916.8%
2025-2664,45710,08615.6%

Unlock the full 17-year history (free)

One email unlocks the full year-by-year history for every college here, for 30 days: acceptance rate, early decision, SAT and ACT ranges, yield and GPA where each college reports them, with each year linked to the college's own Common Data Set file.

You will also get the EduAvenues newsletter, starting with a short welcome series on college admissions planning. Unsubscribe at any time. Unlocked before? Enter the same email to unlock again. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA. The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Building your list?

EduAvenues CollegePrep helps families in grades 7 to 12 connect course choices, activities, summers, essays and school lists, so each next decision is clearer before senior year.

See CollegePrep options

Sources

Links to every year's file are in the full history above. UVA's CDS files before 2009-10 are not in our archive. Those years show as not available.

Common Questions

What is UVA's acceptance rate?

In 2025-26, UVA reported 64,457 first-year applicants and 10,086 admitted students, an acceptance rate of 15.6%. Down from 32% in 2009-10 to 16% in 2025-26.

What is the Common Data Set?

The Common Data Set is a standard survey that colleges fill out and publish each year. Section C covers first-year admission: applicants and admits (C1), test scores (C9), GPA (C11 and C12) and early decision (C21).

Does being within the middle 50% mean I will get in?

No. The ranges describe students who enrolled, and admission decisions weigh much more than scores and grades. The checker shows where your numbers fall. It does not predict a decision.

More colleges

Cornell University, Northwestern University, Virginia Tech, University of California, Los Angeles, or see them all.