College Admissions Data
Virginia Tech Admissions Data
In 2024-25, Virginia Tech reported 52,296 first-year applicants and 28,758 admitted students, an acceptance rate of 55.0%. See where you stand, how the rate has changed since 2005-06, and unlock the full year-by-year history free.
Where do I stand?
Compares with Virginia Tech's latest reported figures: ACT 28 to 32 (2024-25), GPA bands (2024-25). It shows where you fall. It does not estimate your chances.
Your result
Enter a score, a GPA, or both.
Middle 50% means the range from the 25th to the 75th percentile of enrolled first-year students who submitted that test.
The latest year
- Applicants
- 52,296CDS 2024-25 (archived copy of Virginia Tech's own file)
- Admitted
- 28,758CDS 2024-25 (archived copy of Virginia Tech's own file)
- Acceptance rate
- 55.0%CDS 2024-25 (archived copy of Virginia Tech's own file)
- Early decision vs overall
- 49.7% vs 57.0%CDS 2022-23 (archived copy of Virginia Tech's own file)
- ACT middle 50%
- 28–32; 9% submittedCDS 2024-25 (archived copy of Virginia Tech's own file)
More on Virginia Tech: campus context, review criteria and admissions contacts
Virginia Tech over 20 years
Down from 72% in 2005-06 to 55% in 2024-25. Applications grew from 17,681 to 52,296 over the same years, about 3 times as many.
| CDS year | Applicants | Admitted | Acceptance rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2005-06 | 17,681 | 12,714 | 71.9% |
| 2006-07 | 18,919 | 12,824 | 67.8% |
| 2007-08 | 19,429 | 13,031 | 67.1% |
| 2008-09 | 20,615 | 13,485 | 65.4% |
| 2009-10 | 21,053 | 14,040 | 66.7% |
| 2010-11 | 19,981 | 13,389 | 67.0% |
| 2011-12 | 20,828 | 13,860 | 66.5% |
| 2012-13 | 20,191 | 14,210 | 70.4% |
| 2013-14 | 19,112 | 13,432 | 70.3% |
| 2014-15 | 20,744 | 15,067 | 72.6% |
| 2015-16 | 22,280 | 16,355 | 73.4% |
| 2016-17 | 25,000 | 17,718 | 70.9% |
| 2017-18 | 27,423 | 19,212 | 70.1% |
| 2018-19 | 31,936 | 20,709 | 64.8% |
| 2019-20 | 31,974 | 22,393 | 70.0% |
| 2020-21 | 30,770 | 20,239 | 65.8% |
| 2021-22 | 42,054 | 23,746 | 56.5% |
| 2022-23 | 45,321 | 25,825 | 57.0% |
| 2023-24 | 47,208 | 26,923 | 57.0% |
| 2024-25 | 52,296 | 28,758 | 55.0% |
| 2025-26 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Unlock the full 20-year history (free)
One email unlocks the full year-by-year history for every college here, for 30 days: acceptance rate, early decision, SAT and ACT ranges, yield and GPA where each college reports them, with each year linked to the college's own Common Data Set file.
You will also get the EduAvenues newsletter, starting with a short welcome series on college admissions planning. Unsubscribe at any time. Unlocked before? Enter the same email to unlock again. This site is protected by reCAPTCHA. The Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Building your list?
EduAvenues CollegePrep helps families in grades 7 to 12 connect course choices, activities, summers, essays and school lists, so each next decision is clearer before senior year.
See CollegePrep optionsSources
- Virginia Tech Common Data Set 2024-25
- Virginia Tech Common Data Set 2023-24
- Virginia Tech Common Data Set 2022-23
Links to every year's file are in the full history above. Virginia Tech now shares its Common Data Set only by request. The files here are Virginia Tech's own admission (Section C) files as it once published them, linked through the Internet Archive.
Common Questions
What is Virginia Tech's acceptance rate?
In 2024-25, Virginia Tech reported 52,296 first-year applicants and 28,758 admitted students, an acceptance rate of 55.0%. Down from 72% in 2005-06 to 55% in 2024-25.
What is the Common Data Set?
The Common Data Set is a standard survey that colleges fill out and publish each year. Section C covers first-year admission: applicants and admits (C1), test scores (C9), GPA (C11 and C12) and early decision (C21).
Does being within the middle 50% mean I will get in?
No. The ranges describe students who enrolled, and admission decisions weigh much more than scores and grades. The checker shows where your numbers fall. It does not predict a decision.
More colleges
Cornell University, Northwestern University, University of Virginia, University of California, Los Angeles, or see them all.